Ministry Profile

Ministry of Modernisation of Agriculture, Native Land And Regional Development (MANRED) was established in 2017 as a result of the merging of three (3) ministries - Ministry of Land Development (KKT), Ministry of Rural Development (KPLB) and Ministry of Modernisation of Agriculture (MOMA).

History of MANRED (Brochure dated 28th May 2018)

MANRED is the ministry responsible in spearheading the development of agriculture and rural communities in Sarawak as portrayed by its slogan - Empowering Communities, Enhancing Growth, Spearheading DevelopmentMANRED aim to transform and sustain the agriculture and rural economy through modernisation and commercialization.

Under the leadership of Deputy Chief Minister cum Minister of Finance II, YB Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas; Assistant Ministers, YB Datuk Roland Sagah Wee Inn and YB Datuk Dr Haji Abdul Rahman Bin Haji Ismail; and Ministry's Permanent Secretary, Mr Edwin Abit, MANRED target Sarawak to be the Net Exporter Of Food by 2030.

Overall, there are 23 state and federal agencies currently under the watching brief of MANRED.

State Agencies

  • Department of Agriculture Sarawak (DOA)
  • Department of Veterinary Services Sarawak (DVSS)
  • Sarawak Land Consolidation & Rehabilitation Authority (SALCRA)
  • Sarawak Land Development Board (SLDB)
  • State Farmers' Organisation (SFO)
  • Department of Irrigation & Drainage Sarawak (Rural Infrastructure)
  • Land & Survey Department (Native Land)

Federal Agencies:

  • Beras Corporation Sdn. Bhd. (BERNAS)
  • Federal Agriculture Marketing Authority (FAMA)
  • Fisheries Development Authorities of Malaysia (LKIM)
  • Integrated Agriculture Development Area (IADA) - Batang Lupar, Kalaka-Saribas-Betong dan Samarahan
  • Malaysia Agriculture Research & Development Institute (MARDI)
  • Department of Fisheries (DOF)
  • Malaysia Pineapple Industry Board (MPIB)
  • Malaysia Pepper Board (MPB)
  • Malaysia Palm Oil Board (MPOB) 
  • Malaysian Rubber Board (MRB)
  • Rubber Industry Smallholders Development Authority (RISDA)
  • FELCRA Berhad Sarawak
  • Federal Land Development Authority (FELDA)

Useful Links